Week 10 Reflection (B250)

As we have continued working with Google Adwords and Google Analytics, I feel that I have learned a lot about the different techniques of creating successful ads for google. When I was in middle school and high school, I always said that I wanted to either be a nurse or work with advertisement. This week has taught me that I still have an interest in advertisement. Even though I am just barely brushing the surface and still have a lot to learn, I could see myself continuing to create ads and monitor the success of each ad. It is really interesting to me to watch what draws a person to view the ad.

This week we learned a way to see if the advertisements are actually drawing in success. The best way to tell is by looking at the conversion tracking. Conversion is the action that happens after a user clicks on the advertisement and is brought to the webpage. On my webpage, the conversion is when someone purchases one of my products. Each purchase averages about $18. Knowing the conversion rate is helpful to knowing how much profit I will bring in.

The way to determine how much you are making with advertisements is to look at the return on investment (ROI). It compares how much you’ve spent on the ad to how much you’ve made on the ad.
Here is a helpful article to calculate the return on investment:
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/1722066?hl=en&topic=1713968&ctx=topic

We also evaluated the performance of our ads by looking at the statistics that are provided in Google Ads. Assessing my current statistics was helpful because it allowed me to see that I still have a lot to change about my advertisements and webpage. My advertisements have been viewed over a couple thousand of times which really excites me. However, I have not received anywhere near as many clicks. This helps me to see that there is still a lot of changes that need to be made.
I used these two links to help me assess what changes need to be made in order for my site to see my growth:
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2453976?hl=en
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2404196?hl=en

Overall, this week has helped me to see that I still have a lot of improvements to be made on my advertisements. I will continue to work hard to make sure that I see the progress that I need in order to draw traffic to my website.

Leave a Reply

