Week 4 Reflection (B250)

At the beginning of this class, I assumed that I would build my website from the ground up using HTML/CSS. It offers so much more flexibility in designing a website. I find drag and drop websites frustrating as they limit what you can truly do. In fact, that is one of the reasons I got interested in majoring in web design and development. However, I simply do not have the time to do this so I have decided to use a website builder.

With all of the website builders out there, it may seem like an easy task to get a website up and running. I have learned from this week that this isn’t always the case. There are so many different websites to choose from that it is kind of overwhelming. The most important things to consider when choosing a website builder is how much you are willing to put into the website. Some website builders are free but that restricts the resources you could be getting. Websites like Wix, Squarespace, and Weebly provide you with a program that makes it easier to start an online store or any type of website. They also provide things like domain names and additional storage. I have decided to choose Squarespace as my website builder and host. I will discuss what I learned throughout the process.

While searching for a website builder, the three most important things that I looked for were price, flexibility with design, and level of difficulty. The price of the basic online store package is $26 if you pay annually. This seems like a very steep price compared to other site builders however, there is a 50% student discount. There are so many tools that come with this plan that will be helpful with starting an online business and I think it will be worth the price. Squarespace is known for its flexibility with design. You start by selecting a template that can be changed however you want. It also provides you with a mobile ready site which is very important for an online store. Overall, Squarespace seems very simple and easy to use. They offer 24/7 support and have said that they will respond to emails within an hour.

Choosing a host was a simple task for me because Squarespace will host the website that is built. In the future, when searching for hosts, I will need to look for a host that provides a domain name and offers a large amount or unlimited storage.

Even though it was difficult to chose the right website builder and host, I look forward to moving on with building this website and hope that my decision will be beneficial to me.

 

Leave a Reply

