Social Media Marketing Project

Company: Urban Outfitters
Objective: Recently there has been a decrease in interest in shopping in stores due to the heavy interest in online shopping. The objective is to create ways that will bring more customers into our stores.
Strategy: Create multiple promotions on Instagram that will invoke interest in shopping in stores. This will be done by creating 5 posts that will provide information on sales and free objects that are only offered in stores.

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 10.43.51 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 10.44.23 PM Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 10.44.42 PM Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 10.45.02 PM Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 10.43.31 PM

Process:

I really wanted to use my own photos so that I could have enough space to place text on them. I first took 5 different photos that were related to the promotions that I wanted to use. I tried to keep the photos consistent with the Urban Outfitters brand so that it could be recognizable by viewers. I tried to use earthy colors throughout my photos such as green, blue, and brown. The audience is for young adults between the ages of 18 and 28. I matched this audience by making the photos look trendy and by including text that was short and to the point which included emojis. I created all of my designs in Photoshop.

Critique:

I received critiques on Facebook from Leah Goodwin, Carrie Hunt, and Whitney Peterson. I was given advice to make all of my posts look more cohesive by using the same font and incorporating more of the same colors throughout. To make them look cohesive, I used the same fonts on all five slides. Sister Peterson also gave me the advice to add a contrasting element on my tapestries photo so I moved the UO logo down and placed another circle over it. For my recycle shoes photo, I was told that there was some trapped white space so I right aligned the text with the box and I also made the font a little bit smaller but added a stroke on the text so that it was still easy to read. The last thing that I was asked to do was to make the UO consistent throughout all posts. I made sure to change some posts that had the full Urban Outfitters title to a simple UO in a script font. I didn’t feel that the men’s graphic tee’s design needed the logo because it was a “re-gram” from a customer’s Instagram account.

I critiqued Chris Michael and Laren Forson.

Images:

All images are original by Hannah (Morgan) Taylor

Recycle Overlay

Fonts:

Basic Title Font- Sans Serif
La Bell Aurore- Script
Black Jack-Script

4 thoughts on “Social Media Marketing Project

  1. Hannah, I have to say you are one talented photographer. These pictures look professional! I think you nailed the color scheme for the company and audience. I also think you did a great job attracting your audience. If I were Urban Outfitters I would hire you in a heartbeat. If you have a chance, check out BreAnna’s profile along with mine.

    Todd: https://toddpatch.wordpress.com/2016/06/09/social-media-marketing/
    BreAnna: http://www.bre-illiantinspiration.com/category/comm125/

    Like

Leave a Reply

