Slide Design Project

The talk I chose to create a presentation for was
“Like a Broken Vessel” by Jeffery R. Holland, October 2013

Speaker’s Outline

I wish to speak to those who suffer from some form of mental illness…

  • Slight or severe
  • Brief or persistent over a lifetime
  • Neuroses
  • Psychoses
  • Depression
  • Bipolar
  • Paranoia
  • Schizophrenia

We chose to live in a fallen world

  • We will be tested and tried again and again
  • God’s plan promised a Savior
  • Our faith in Him will lift us through these tests and trials
  • It is only an appreciation of this divine love that will make our own lesser suffering
    -Bearable
    -Understandable
    -Redemptive

So how do you best respond when mental or emotional challenges confront you or those you love?

  • Never lose faith in your Father in Heaven
  • Never harden your heart
  • Seek the counsel of priesthood holders
  • Take the sacrament every week
  • Hold fast to the atonement
  • Believe in miracles
  • Trust in happier days ahead of you
  • Watch for stress indicators
  • Take time to be well
  • Be patient

Do not vote against the preciousness of life by ending it!

  • Trust in God
  • Hold on to His love
  • One day all shadows of mortality will flee
  • Though we may feel we are “like a broken vessel,” as the Psalmist says,10 we must remember, that vessel is in the hands of the divine potter.

Close with testimony.

Process

I first began by choosing a general conference talk that had a lot of meaning to me and something that had enough subjects to find pictures for my slides. The audience for this presentation is for those struggling with depression or any other mental illness big or small. I chose to make a very simple design where the pictures would convey the message more than the words. I wanted to use soft colors so I chose an analogous color scheme with lighter blues, greens, and yellows. Once I figured out how to break the talk down into subjects, I created this sketch to help me get started:

rsz_jpg_sketch

Critique Report

I posted my rough draft onto our class Facebook page and received critiques from Cole Hibbard and Melanie Buchanan. The critique that I received was to increase the size on the more important words on each slide. I changed the size on all of my slides to better emphasize the key words. I also was told to keep a constant pattern with part of the text inside of my design element (transparent blue rectangles) and part of the text outside. I felt that the critique I received was very helpful to improving my slide presentation.

The two classmates that I critiqued were BreAnna Fryer and Liz Miller.

Fonts:
Dragon is coming (script)
Basic Title (sans serif)

Links to images:
Elder Holland, sad woman, praying woman, telescope, woman meditating, Jesus reaching, broken vessel, hands of Jesus

 

 

Leave a Reply

